The Jim Tiedje Award

The “Jim Tiedje Award” is presented by ISME to an exalted microbial ecologist who is recognized for their Outstanding Lifetime contribution to the field of microbial ecology. Past winners of this award include Farooq Azam (2004), Gijs Kuenen (2006), Norman Pace (2008), Bo Barker Jørgensen (2010), Stephen Giovannoni (2012), Nancy Moran (2014) and most recently, Sallie Chisholm in 2016. An expert panel of individuals have already selected the awardee for 2018; Michael Wagner will be presented with the prestigious award in Leipzig. 

The ISME Young Investigators Award

The “ISME Young Investigator Award” recognizes early career microbial ecologists who have made significant contributions to this field. An expert panel comprising individuals selected by the ISME Executive are the judges of this biennial award. Past winners of this award include Ian Head (2004), Phil Hugenholtz (2006), Forest Rohwer (2008), Marc Strous (2010), Victoria Orphan (2012), Ruth Ley (2014) and Gene Tyson in 2016. 

The ISME Student Poster Award

The “ISME Student Poster Award” is reserved for students or postdocs who are the first and presenting author on a submitted poster presentation (proof of (postgraduate) studentship will be required). During ISME17, three outstanding posters will be chosen each day (Monday, Tuesday and Thursday). Awardees will receive free membership of ISME for 2019. Winning posters will be displayed in a prominent location on Friday 17 August 2018. Awards will be presented at the closing ceremony of ISME17.

The David C. White Award

David C. White’s vision was to honor and respect the power of quantitative analytical chemistry to microbial ecology. Thus, the “D.C. White Award” will be presented to the most innovative poster at the ISME17 conference. The announcement of the “D.C. White award” will be made at the closing ceremony of the ISME17 symposium.

The Bill Costerton Young Scientist Prize

The Bill Costerton Young Scientist Prize will recognize early career scientists who demonstrate the most promising research involving new theories in microbial ecology that have wider inter-disciplinary significance. The recipient of the award will be selected from the 9 poster winners and awarded the prize during the closing ceremony of the symposium. 

The QIAGEN Poster Award

Our Silver Sponsor Qiagen will be awarding a prize to one of the selected ISME Student Poster Awards.  
The QIAGEN Poster Award seeks to advance microbiome research by providing US$1000 in QIAGEN products to one winner with an exceptional poster presented at ISME. The Poster Award winner will be announced at the Closing Ceremony. Healthcare providers are not eligible for the prize.

The Tom Brock Awards

The Tom Brock Awards acknowledge the accomplishments and promise of outstanding postdoctoral research associates on the basis of the presentations that they make at the ISME Symposium.  The criteria will include scientific accomplishments and innovation as well as clarity of presentation at ISME17.  Initial selection criteria will be on the basis of submitted abstracts that will be chosen for oral presentations by the organizers.  Final evaluation will be made at the meeting, by evaluating the oral presentations of the candidates.

The ISME/IWA Bio Cluster Award

In order to recognize the importance of interdisciplinary research at the interface of microbial ecology and water/wastewater treatment, the ISME/IWA Bio Cluster Award was created. This prestigious prize rewards interdisciplinary research of unusual merit in this field.

The Award will be presented in front of an audience of water leaders from around the world at the upcoming IWA World Water Congress & Exhibition 2018, 16-21 September, 2018, in Tokyo.

ISME Travel Awards

Please read more here